Lodging Tax Advisory Committee

The City's Lodging Tax Advisory Committee was formed in accordance with state law that requires any city or county to form such a committee when they impose a new hotel-motel tax, raise the rate of an existing tax, repeal an exemption from the tax or change the use of the tax proceeds.

The purpose of the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee is to make recommendations to the Vancouver City Council about how the revenue from the City's 4 percent lodging tax is spent.

The Lodging Tax Advisory Committee must have a minimum of five members and is chaired by a Vancouver City Councilmember (this is a non-voting position).

Fifty percent of the voting members must represent businesses that are required to collect the hotel-motel tax.

The other 50 percent of the voting members of the committee must be either staff, board members or volunteers from organizations or activities that are authorized to be funded by this tax.

Meeting Time: Once a year minimum

Number of members: 9

Length of term: 2 years

Maximum terms: 3 consecutive


Alisha Topper- Chair - Councilmember Bruno Amicci - Vancouver Downtown Association
Jordan Boldt -  Vancouver Farmer's Market Melinda Capen - Double Tree
Anne Haller - Staybridge Suites Kari Jonassen - Homewood Suites
Mike McLeod - Hilton Hotel and Convention Center Lee Rafferty - Vancouver Downtown Association
Mike Williams - Fort Vancouver National Trust  


Jan Bader

Christine Smith